Public transport

Public transport in Sipoo is planned and organised by the Helsinki Regional Transport Authority, or HSL. In addition to Sipoo, it consists of the following member municipalities: Helsinki, Vantaa, Espoo, Kauniainen, Kerava, Kirkkonummi, Tuusula and Siuntio. Also Sipoo is a part of the seasonal and series ticket area of Uusimaa and Häme. The ticket is valid for travel, for example, between Sipoo and Pornainen, Järvenpää, or Porvoo.

Pörtö Line is a ferry operator taking care of school transports and commuting traffic from and to the archipelago all year, as well as of transports in the archipelago during the winter isolation period.

Do the following

HSL area

HSL tickets are valid in public transport in the following municipalities: Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen, Vantaa, Kerava, Sipoo, Tuusula, Kirkkonummi and Siuntio. The tickets can be used for traveling with bus, commuter trains, trams, underground/subway and on the Suomenlinna ferry. All tickets allow you to transfer between modes of transport within their validity. The HSL area is divided into four zones, identified by letters A, B, C and D, spreading out from the center of Helsinki. Before buying a ticket, check the zones you travel through and buy a ticket accordingly.

Season tickets are a perfect solution for people who use public transport on a regular basis. If you travel more occasionally, buy a value ticket. You can use value on your HSL card (the card must be topped up in advance), or purchase a single ticket separately. Single tickets can be purchased by using the HSL app on your mobile phone. Alternatively, you can buy a single paper ticket at any of the ticket machines at HSL stops or platforms, as well as in sales points.

On HSL's website, you can find additional information such as timetables and routes, ticket prices, and sales points.

Seasonal and serial ticket for Uusimaa and Häme region

With the seasonal and regional tickets for Uusimaa and Häme regions, you can travel in the Central and Eastern Uusimaa region and in the Kanta-Häme region in the following municipalities: Askola, Hausjärvi, Hyvinkää, Janakkala, Järvenpää, Lapinjärvi, Loppi, Loviisa, Mäntsälä, Myrskylä, Nurmijärvi, Pornainen, Porvoo, Pukkila, Riihimäki, Sipoo and Tuusula. The ticket product is loaded onto Matkahuolto's travel card, which can be obtained from Matkahuolto.

Single tickets are suitable for non-recurring trips and occasional traveling on Matkahuolto routes. Single tickets can be purchased from the Matkahuolto online shop, via the mobile app and at Matkahuolto service points.

You can find more information, such as routes and schedules, ticket prices, and service points, on Matkahuolto's website.

Archipelago traffic

Pörtö Line is the boat traffic provider for people going to work or school from the islands of Sipoo. Pörtö Line is also responsible for the hover craft traffic during the "between months" when the sea is neither entirely frozen nor entirely open.

You can find schedules and other additional information on Pörtö Line's website.